Tag Archives: sleaze metal

Music Review: Stereo Nasty CD: Nasty by Nature



Available: NOW

Label: Independent

Official Websites:




More and more I am finding myself drawn to bands who for lack of a better term, fly a bit under the radar and don’t have record labels dictating to them when or how to write their music.  Also, I tend to lean more favorably towards bands that have begun to have a more stripped down sound back to roots sound.  So when I accidently ran across a band called Stereo Nasty I was curious to hear what this band from Ireland was about.  Are they glam/sleaze?  Are they dirty hard rock?  Are they old school metal?  Well they are a bit of all, rolled into one.

Stereo Nasty plays a style of heavy metal that would fit right into the height of the NWOBHM scene and would remind you of one the bands that had a good chance of breaking big out of that scene.  Musically they have a very no nonsense straight ahead metal sound with an almost military precision and cadence sound which fits the lyrical themes of their songs very well. Possibly like a less produced sounding version of ACCEPT and a little bit more dirty. Vocally, the band has a guy named Mick Mahon who sounds like someone I have heard before but can’t seem to put a finger on but to sum It up he sounds like bit like a mixture of Blackie Lawless but with a huskier sound and oddly a bit like Ann Boleyn from Hellion just more like a dude.  While he has similar vocal styles as these two he also has a interestingly unique style to his singing which keeps a listener glued to the album.

Nasty by Nature was a real treat to come across by accident.  If you are a fan of bands that have a bit of danger to them, no nonsense music that has a kick ass attitude matched by a singer who you can tell means business.  Then Stereo Nasty may be what you are looking for.  Check them out in the Band Camp link in above where you can listen to the full album and even buy it for about $5 bucks.  Not a bad deal at all.

Tornado: “Black President” album review

By Carla Morton

In 2011, the Finnish Thrash/Sleaze metal band, Tornado, released their debut album ‘’Amsterdamn Hellsinki’’ which received nice reviews. Later, things have changed within the band with a new line-up and this year Tornado released their second album entitled ‘’Black President’’ and signed with the Italian record label WormHoleDeath. Superstar Joey Severance is the only founding member remaining in the band, along with Tim Damion and Tommy Shred (guitar), Henry Steel (bass) and Niko McNasty (drums). It should be mentioned as well, ‘’Black President’’ was recorded with the drummer Jani Niemelä who had to leave the band due to some medical problems but he was soon replaced by Niko.

To start talking about ‘’Black President’’, all I have to say is that I like it as much as I like the first album. This band in my opinion has a very unique style, Superstar Joey Severance’s voice is special indeed, the main lyrical themes are focused on hatred and society and obviously this album transmits a message about the world we live in: how people and society are, with so much hate and so on.


The album begins with the song ‘’Black President’’ and ends with ‘’Ghetto Wasted’’.  I want to speak about the song ‘’David And Goliath’’, one of my favorite songs from this album, a song that conveys a message for all those who has nothing better to do than just mocking other people, the lyrics are powerful so they can ‘’kick your ass-if you mock, yes you are a loser!’’. The other songs are great too, nice solos, nice drum rthyms, good lyrical theme and both videos for the ‘’Black President’’ & ‘’David and Goliath’’ songs are well done, I have no negative things to say about this album or the band, which are one of my favorite bands.

I think fans of Thrash and Sleaze metal would like this band and their albums, even the new one, so they should at least try it!



Track list:

  1. Black President
  2. I, Individual
  3. 911 First Responder (FDNY)
  4. Flesh Crawling Nightmare
  5. T Minus 10
  6. David And Goliath
  7. World Pieces
  8. Under The Crimson Moon
  9. Stop The Madness (Part I and II)
  10. Ghetto Wasteland