Tag Archives: singers

TIM ‘RIPPER’ OWENS Working On Long-Awaited Sophomore BEYOND FEAR Album

BEYOND FEAR, the new band featuring former JUDAS PRIEST and ICED EARTH frontman Tim “Ripper” Owens, is working on its long-awaited sophomore album. Owens has thus far laid down vocals on three songs at Empire Studios in Cleveland, Ohio for the CD, which he says will be “a bit heavier” than BEYOND FEAR‘s 2006 self-titled debut album.

BEYOND FEAR‘s current lineup is as follows:

* John Comprix (RINGWORM, LAW OF DESTRUCTION) – Guitar
* Matt Sorg (RINGWORM) – Guitar
* Eric Elkins (CRYPTKICKER, ALL YOU FEAR) – Drums
* Ed Stephens – Bass

The recording sessions for BEYOND FEAR‘s new album are being funded entirely by Owens, who is seeking a new label home for the effort following the band’s split with Steamhammer/SPV.

In a 2006 interview with About.com Metal Metal, Owens stated about the formation of BEYOND FEAR: “[The other members] are local guys, friends of mine. We’ve always played and jammed together. [Former BEYOND FEAR] bass player [Dennis Hayes] was in WINTERS BANE with me, so we go back a ways. John, the guitar player, and I go back a ways, too. We knew each other and I knew it was the perfect fit for us.”

He added: “I started writing songs a few years [before the release of the debut album]. Not everything was written together. I probably wrote six or seven songs myself and then got together with John and we wrote the other ones. I’m not sure even when the first one was written. I’d write a song and then seven months later write another one whenever I had the time to sit down. It was an odd writing process, and I think that’s what gives the [first CD] so much substance and so many layers to it because it was written at different times.”

Exclusive interview with Cara McCutchen Lead Singer of Mortillery!

Cara McCutchen lead singer of Edmonton, Canada’s Mortillery was kind enough to sit and answer some questions about her band Mortillery, their future plans and herself. ┬áRead below for the interview!

Continue reading Exclusive interview with Cara McCutchen Lead Singer of Mortillery!

AVANTASIA – Photos Of The Mystery Of Time Hardcover Book

On March 30th, the new AVANTASIA album, The Mystery Of Time, will hit stores as a regular CD, limited edition vinyl and limited edition hardcover book with a 28-pages booklet containing ten regular songs and two additional bonus tracks (‘The Cross And You’, ‘Death Is Just A Feeling’). Check out photos of the limited edition hardcover book below:

The cover artwork for The Mystery Of Time, hand-painted by world famous British fantasy painter Rodney Matthews, and the tracklisting can be seen below:

‘The Watchmakers’ Dream’
‘Black Orchid’
‘Where Clock Hands Freeze’
‘Savior In The Clockwork’
‘Invoke The Machine’
‘What’s Left Of Me’
‘Dweller In A Dream’
‘The Great Mystery’
‘The Cross And You’ *
‘Death Is Just A Feeling’ *

* bonus tracks on limited edition hardcover book

The Mystery Of Time features a plethora of guest stars including: Biff Byford (SAXON), Michael Kiske (UNISONIC, ex-HELLOWEEN), Joe Lynn Turner (ex-RAINBOW, DEEP PURPLE), Eric Martin (MR. BIG), Ronnie Atkins (PRETTY MAIDS), Bruce Kulick (ex-KISS), Arjen Lucassen (AYREON), Russell Gilbrook (URIAH HEEP), Bob Catley (MAGNUM) and more.

In April, Avantasia will set off on their European leg of the Mystery World Tour and joining the band on tour will be Magnum’s Bob Catley and HEAVENS GATE’s Thomas Rettke and Mr. Big’s Eric Martin. Avantasia’s complete live itinerary can be viewed at this location.