Tag Archives: portugal

IRON MAIDEN Bassist Discusses BRITISH LION Project In New Video Interview

Portugal’s CheckSound conducted an interview with IRON MAIDEN bassist Steve Harris prior to his new solo/side project BRITISH LION‘s sold-out charity show on February 20 at the Moto Clube de Faro’s new 600-capacity clubhouse. You can now watch the chat below.

BRITISH LION is out on the road this month, visiting fourteen countries and twenty-four cities across Europe. For the first time ever, and as a major surprise to many, MAIDEN‘s bass player, founding member and leader is taking temporary leave from his MAIDEN activities and heading out on a full European club tour.

Regarding the BRITISH LION tour, Steve previously said: “I love touring and live shows and I’m very excited about touring with BRITISH LION. It’s fantastic to get out there and once again experience the sheer vibrancy of small clubs with the fans right up front and in your face. I think the fans will enjoy that too. It’s exciting, going back to the roots, and it’s going to be fantastic. We are taking this to clubs all round Europe — a full club tour, with club shows at club prices, hot, sweaty and loud. We have no idea how many people will turn out to see us, as it’s obviously very recent and very new, so we have kept the venues small with tickets priced accordingly as low as we reasonably could.

“I’ve known all the guys in the band for ages and, besides being great musicians, they are also good friends, which is lucky because this has been an ongoing project for many years! They’ve had to be very patient with me as, of course, I’m so involved with MAIDEN I don’t really get a lot of free time to work on other stuff. So it’s great to finally have the opportunity to get out and do all these shows. The reaction to the album has been really good and I think it will sound great live. We’re all planning to have a lot of fun on this tour!”

BRITISH LION‘s debut album sold around 3,000 copies in the United States in its first week of release. The CD landed at position No. 3 on the Top New Artist Albums (Heatseekers) chart, which lists the best-selling albums by new and developing artists, defined as those who have never appeared in the Top 100 of The Billboard 200.

“British Lion” was released in the U.S. on September 25, 2012 via Universal Music Enterprises (UMe). Mixed by Kevin Shirley — whose credits include IRON MAIDEN as well as Led ZEPPELIN, JOURNEY and RUSH, among many others — the CD, which features Harris alongside vocalist Richard Taylor, guitarists Graham Leslie and David Hawkins and drummer Simon Dawson, presents a different side of the bassist’s musical visions.

“British Lion” comprises ten songs that Steve and his collaborators have been working on between IRON MAIDEN tours and releases and is described by Harris as “’70s-influenced, British-sounding hard rock.” “I’d say it’s more mainstream rock than metal… and quite commercial… but good commercial,” he said. “There’s all kinds of stuff going on, with nods to THE WHO and UFO and some classic British rock bands, but it’s not the progressive rock album some might be expecting.”

Fan-filmed video footage of BRITISH LION performing on February 23 at La Riviera in Madrid, Spain can be seen below.


Performance (February 23 at La Riviera in Madrid, Spain):

IRON MAIDEN Bassist’s BRITISH LION Kicks Off European Tour; Video Footage, Review Available

The BRITISH LION European tour got off to an electrifying start in Portugal last night with a sold-out charity show at the Moto Clube de Faro’s new 600-capacity clubhouse. The venue was packed to the rafters as fans saw IRON MAIDEN bassist Steve Harris and fellow BRITISH LION bandmates perform a 90-minute, blistering set of album tracks, new songs and covers.

The band burst onto the tiny Faro stage and launched immediately into a mesmerizing performance of album opener “This Is My God”, followed by “Lost Worlds” and the electrifying “Karma Killer”, vocalist Richard Taylor proving a natural frontman with wonderful command of the crowd, working an already-hyper audience into a virtual frenzy. So much so that the barrier in front of the stage looked in serious danger of giving way under the throng and had to be stabilised by the Moto Clube security team. With Steve Harris center-front with Richard Taylor, flanked by guitarists Grahame Leslie and David Hawkins and Simon Dawson on drums behind, band and crowd seemed to all merge into one swirling, sweaty, seething, rock and roll mass.

A new song, “Father Lucifer”, came next, catching the crowd’s imagination with its sensuous hypnotic beat, the entire audience now under singer Taylor‘s spell, including Steve, who was mouthing every word and looking absolutely in his element. Next up came “The Chosen Ones”, intensifying the super-charged atmosphere, the whole crowd singing along with Richard Taylor‘s soaring, melodious vocals, complemented by the twin guitars and the whirling-dervish movements of Grahame Leslie, who often looked as if he might simply spin clear off the stage and disappear into the crowd.

After a stirring performance of “These Are The Hands” came three new songs (“Guineas And Crowns”, “The Burning”, “Last Chance”), all equally well-received before delving back into the BRITISH LION album for the most recent single “Us Against The World” and “A World Without Heaven”. Then came the first cover song of the night, a take on the catchy “Do Ya Do Ya Want Me”, for which Taylor once again had the crowd eating out of his hand, singing along with the chorus and obeying his every command.

Not until the band broke into dreamy, reflective “Judas”, the last song of the set, did the frenetic pace slightly abate before once again gathering momentum for the song’s climax. The band left the stage momentarily then reappeared to break into the second cover of the night, UFO‘s “Let It Roll”, which sent the by-now delirious audience into overdrive, the whole venue by now in meltdown. The biggest cheer of the night came for closing song “Eyes Of The Young”, which, if this opening night is anything to go by, is sure to become the anthem of this tour.

The setlist for the show was as follows:

01. This Is My God
02. Lost Worlds
03. Karma Killer
04. Father Lucifer
05. The Chosen Ones
06. These Are The Hands
07. Guineas And Crowns
08. The Burning
09. Last Chance
10. Us Against The World
11. World Without Heaven
12. Do You Want It
13. Judas


14. Let It Roll
15. Eyes Of The Young