Tag Archives: bay area thrash metal

LOST SOCIETY: ‘Fast Loud Death’ Track-By-Track Breakdown

Part three of a track-by-track breakdown of “Fast Loud Death”, the debut album from Finnish thrashers LOST SOCIETY, can be seen below.

“Fast Loud Death” will be released on March 15 via Nuclear Blast Records. The CD was recorded at Sonic Pump Studios (FINNTROLL, SONATA ARCTICA, OMNIUM GATHERUM) in Helsinki, Finland with producer Nino Laurenne (AMORPHIS, ENSIFERUM, LORDI) and it features cover artwork by Ed Repka (MEGADETH, DEATH, SANCTUARY, VENOM).

The album’s first single, “Trash All Over You” — a song that perfectly captures what LOST SOCIETY are all about: speed, toughness and huge fun — is available to stream and download below.

Comments LOST SOCIETY vocalist/guitarist Samy Elbanna: “Many people have asked us why we misspelled the song title. We always give the same answer: It’s not about the thrash genre, but depicts how the whole world is collapsing on you. All the problems in the world seem to pile up and you get trashed all over. The song carries the feeling of being mad at everything and everyone at the same time — it’s something we all can relate to.”

Regarding the album artwork, Elbanna said: “When we heard that the one and only Ed Repka would be responsible for the album art, we were thrilled, as he created some of the most killer album covers of all times! The result looks absolutely amazing and truly captures the album’s theme — a bus full of crazy people who blew it up big time!”

Added Repka: “This was a lot of work but a fun project, since both the band and the label were great to work with and very receptive to my input. LOST SOCIETY‘s comical concept of their tour bus leaving a town destroyed was cool, but to make it even more crazy, I added the pop-culture ‘monster in car’ aspect, giving the whole image a distinct, aggressive presence. Another tongue-in-cheek metal masterpiece is born!”

“Fast Loud Death” will be available as a limited digipak, deluxe digital download via iTunes and black vinyl in gatefold, all of them including two bonus tracks. Moreover, a limited digipak plus a t-shirt bundle as well as a limited blue-transparent 2LP in gatefold will be exclusively available via the Nuclear Blast mail order. Pre-order your copy now at this location.

“Fast Loud Death” track listing:

01. N.W.L.
02. Trash All Over You
03. E.A.G.
04. KILL (Those Who Oppose Me)
05. Bitch, Out’ My Way
06. Fast Loud Death
07. Lead Through The Head
08. Diary Of A Thrashman
09. Toxic Avenger
10. This Is Me
11. Braindead Metalhead
12. Piss Out My Ass
13. Fatal Anoxia

Bonus tracks:

14. Escape From Delirium
15. I Stole Your Love (KISS cover song)

Founded in early 2010 by thrash/speed metal enthusiast Samy Elbanna in the Finnish town of Jyväskylä, LOST SOCIETY played a number of gigs around Finland before taking part in the world-renowned GBOB (Global Battle Of the Bands). After winning the preliminary round in their hometown, they were invited to the finals held in Helsinki, where they prevailed over 13 other contestants. The grand finals of GBOB 2012 took place at The Scala in London on December 9, 2012 and featured 18 bands from all over the world, including LOST SOCIETY.


Samy Elbanna – Vocals, Guitar
Arttu Lesonen – Guitar
Mirko Lehtinen – Bass
Ossi Paananen – Drums

HATRIOT: Debut From Act With Original Testament/Exodus Vocalist Out Now & Streaming

Heroes Of Origin, the blazing debut from thrash act HATRIOT — founded by original Exodus and Testament vocalist Steve “Zetro” Souza, alongside his sons Cody and Nick and guitarists Kosta Varvatakis and Miguel Esparza — is out today in North America via Massacre Records! Surging with nearly forty-five minutes of old-school Bay Area thrash tradition, yet with a crushing, cutting-edge tone, the ten tracks onHeroes Of Origin were produced by Juan Urteaga at Trident Studios (Testament, Heathen, Exodus, Skinlab), the cover art and booklet designed by Mark Devito (Motörhead, Laaz Rockit, Ruffians, Exodus).

Heavy metal broadcasting portal This Is Not A Scene is streaming all of Heroes Of Origin today in commemoration of its release. Get bulldozed HERE!

Having proven his metal allegiance by fronting such acts as Exodus, Legacy (Testament), Dublin Death Patrol, Tenet, AC/DZ, and more, Steve “Zetro” Souza has once again steps into the thrash metal world with HATRIOT, taking his musical roots back in time to the 1980s when metal was fast, furious, and yet still melodic. Souza has a vocal style that few singers possess, boasting a powerful sting yet at the same time delivering in a way where fans can fully understand the lyrics, a trademark trait that made him one of the premier singers in the genre. Still residing in the evolutionary birthplace of thrash metal, HATRIOT is out to crush and destroy everything in its path. Unsatisfied with the newer trends in the metal scene, the band produces quality old-school metal with a proven formula with the perfect chemistry and hits the stage light a freight train!

“This is the very sound – that raging slaughter of burnt offerings; that over the wall toxic overdose – that all old school 80s thrashers have been anticipating. Every element is present: that biting and harsh tempo of the damned, incredible solos, intense, yet thought-provoking lyrics which deal with violence and corruption, Sousa’s unique Bon Scott meets a deranged Paul Bailoff’s scowl and howl, and top-notch production. 9/10″ – Metal Temple

“Zetro has assembled thrash metal for the masses here. The entire album is phenomenal It is destined to become a part of the classics he has been a part of! 5/5″ – Thrash Head

“This CD from start to end is why we become music fans… a must have, if there ever was one. 10/10″ – Wicked Channel

“HATRIOT is already a force to be reckoned with in the Thrash scene. Their time as a band might be short, but their ability to craft energetic, fierce, and catchy music is already quite developed and remarkable. 8.5/10” – The Metal Observer

“…hits hard, and drives the rage home with relentless aggression…The full record simply extrapolates the blistering attack over 10 full tracks. 8.6/10″ – Metalhoic

“…crank the fuck out of this! From brutal start to anthemic finish, the energy just never lets up.4/5 – CD of the month” – The Right To Rock

“…an old-school thrash free-for-all; high speed, leathery vocals, and an appreciable focus on anthem-writing.” – About.com

“… they destroy all hope you have for today’s society, and leave you begging for more audible punishment after just one spin. 8.5/10″ – Apoch’s Metal Review