FREEDOM CALL: More ‘Ages Of Light’ Details Revealed

German metallers FREEDOM CALL will release an anniversary album, “Ages Of Light”, on April 26 in Germany, April 29 in the rest of Europe and May 7 in North America via SPV/Steamhammer.

“Ages Of Light” is a best-of double album filled to the brim with 18 of the most important songs from the band’s history, plus a bonus CD entitled “Masqueraded”, featuring six FREEDOM CALL tracks in a new, unusual guise. There is a ska version of “Metal Invasion”, “Mr. Evil” as a melodic reggae track, “Hero On Video” as a speed ska number and “Rockin’ Radio (which is also supported by a video clip) in a killerbilly version.

“Those 18 numbers are usually celebrated at our gigs, or even requested with a vengeance,” explains mainman Chris Bay.

“Masqueraded” is complemented by FREEDOM CALL in campfire strumming style (including music sheet/tablature) and “Age Of The Phoenix” in a power swing outfit. It would hardly be possible to present these tracks more colorfully. Bay says: “Our intention with ‘Masqueraded’ was to inspire musicians and music fans to create their own, personal version of one of our songs — irrespective of musical style — and send it to us.”

“Ages Of Light” combines not only the essence of the best songs from the seven FREEDOM CALL studio recordings to date, but also marks a meeting of various former and current band members. Along with Chris Bay and guitarist Lars Rettkowitz, three different drummers can be heard on the bonus tracks: founding member Dan Zimmermann, along with his successors Klaus Sperling and Ramy Ali, whom fans know from the most recent FREEDOM CALL tour. The two bassists, Samy Saemann and original bandmember Ilker Ersin, and guitarist Cédric “Cede” Dupont, who was part of FREEDOM CALL between 2001 and 2005, are also featured.

“It was great fun to work with old and new friends alike at the studio, turning previously typical FREEDOM CALL numbers into unusual songs,” Bay explains, stressing that the group will commence work on a new studio album after the spring tour. “But first we want to celebrate our anniversary in style!”

“Ages Of Light” track listing:

CD 1 “Ages Of Light”

01. We Are One
02. Tears Falling
03. Freedom Call
04. Farewell
05. Metal Invasion (live)
06. Warriors
07. Land Of Light
08. Hunting High And Low
09. Mr. Evil
10. Far Away
11. Blackened Sun
12. Thunder God
13. Tears Of Babylon
14. A Perfect Day (live)
15. Hero On Video
16. Power & Glory
17. Rockstars
18. Back Into The Land Of Light

CD 2 “Masqueraded”

01. Metal Invasion – Metal Folk Version
02. Mr. Evil – Melodic Reggae Version
03. Hero on Video – Speed Ska Version
04. Rockin’ Radio – Killerbilly Version
05. Freedom Call – Camp Fire Strumming Version
06. Age of the Phoenix – Power Swing Version

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s