Neurot Recordings will release the debut from Arkansas southern rock collective IRON TONGUE.

Fronted by Chris “CT” Terry, the founding frontman of sludge legion RWAKE, IRON TONGUE formed when a group of veteran players with diverse musical backgrounds found a common interest in the need to get down and dirty and way, way gone.

Churning a soulful blend of girthy, heavily amped, blues-based rock, IRON TONGUE aren’t singing of magical moonlit escapades. The band offer up songs of pain, regret and heartache that recall everything from the proto-metal stomp of BLUE CHEER and GRAND FUNK to the darkest hours of KISS, DEEP PURPLE, BUDDY GUY and ‘SKYNYRD. Having spent over three years performing steadily throughout the South, IRON TONGUE has traversed the Midwest and East Coast with Memphis kindred spirits THE DIRTY STREETS, in addition to sharing bills with the likes of BLACK TUSK, Scott Kelly, THE SWORD, HIGH ON FIRE, CROWBAR, THE BODY, Lita Ford and fellow Arkansans PALLBEARER. A split seven-inch single with THE DIRTY STREETS, featuring a ballsy version of KISS“Two Timer” served as a precursor to the creation their debut full-length for Neurot.

Entitled “The Dogs Have Barked, The Birds Have Flown”, the seven-track offering was recorded and produced by soundsmith Billy Anderson (MELVINS, SLEEP, NEUROSIS) at IRON TONGUE guitarist Jason Tedford‘s Wolfman Studios. Called “a solid slab of balls to the wall shameless rock, with a power and an edge and soul that rarely exists in music today,” by NEUROSISSteve Von Till, “The Dogs Have Barked, The Birds Have Flown” is set for release via Neurot Recordings on May 27 in Europe and May 28 in North America.

Comments drummer Stan James of joining the Neurot family: “IRON TONGUE is excited and honored to be a part of the Neurot team! We are looking forward to working hard every step of the way and we are committed to making music that everyone will be proud of.”

“The Dogs Have Barked, The Birds Have Flown” track listing:

01. Ever After
02. Witchery
03. Skeleton
04. Moon Unit
05. Lioness
06. Seven Days
07. Said ‘N’ Done


Jason Tedford – Guitar
Mark Chiaro – Guitar
Andy Warr – Bass
Stan James – Drums
CT – Vocals
Stephanie Smittle – Backing Vocals

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s