JOE SATRIANI Gives Details On New Record


VIA: Metal Injection

Modern guitar god Joe Satriani has bestowed upon us his new album name and track list. Prepare to be floored once more.

Well, here we are again- on the precipice of a new Satriani record, titled Unstoppable Momentum, one of the few guitarists who has never ceased to amaze me. Pretty apt title for a record too considering who he is. Satriani has to say about the record-

The album was recorded at Skywalker Sound in the Bay Area and produced by Satriani and Mike Fraser (AC/DC). It features Vinnie Colauita (Sting, Jeff Beck) on drums, Chris Chaney (Jane’s Addiction) on bass and on keyboards Mike Keneally (Dethklok).

The albums’ 11 songs are “heading in different directions and touching on a variety of musical influences,” Satriani said. “The idea was to crank up the energy level of the sessions and allow for more individual expression of the material from each player. The chemistry with Mike, Chris and Vinnie was fantastic and we blazed through all of the tracks with everyone laying down amazing performances.”

Satch, you had me at mastermind Vinnie Colauita on drums, though I’m equally pumped about Keneally being on just about anything ever in any capacity that he can. So far, so good! Now we play the “waiting for a single” game to come out, which is never fun until you win it. The track list is as follows-

01. Unstoppable Momentum
02. Can’t Go Back
03. Lies And Truths
04. Three Sheets To The Wind
05. I’ll Put A Stone On Your Cairn
06. A Door Into Summer
07. Shine On American Dreamer
08. Jumpin’ In
09. Jumpin’ Out
10. The Weight Of The World
11. A Celebration

Unstoppable Momentum comes out May 7.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s